top of page

The Best of Barcelona: 5 to Die for Foods

For foodies like me, there's no place that I've been to that compares to the food of Barcelona, Spain. I've grown up on the water and beaches of my hometown so I felt at home on the Barcelona shores. If you ever find yourself in this beautiful city, here are my top five recommendations on what to put on your table:

1. Paella

This one is for all you seafood lovers out there. When I think back to the best meal of my life, this has to be it. Paella is the most amazing combination of rice, peas, and an array of seafood that you can ever imagine. Our waiter recommended four people spilt one pot of it but I consumed enough for the four of us put together. This dish is signature to Spain and easily one of the best

2. Patatas Bravas

This potato dish is one of the most popular in Spain, served with different varieties of sauce everywhere you go so be sure to try it when you go to a new restaurant. What sounds better than boiled potatoes with tangy, spicy sauce? The fact that they’re typically served in bars, which means plenty of drinks to accompany them.

3. Chorizo

It's so common to find pork used in tons of Spanish dishes. One of the most popular, and delicious, is chorizo, which comes smoked or unsmoked, usually with pepper and garlic seasoning. In the picture shown, my friend ordered a chorizo cone, a literal cone of meat. But this pork can be incorporated in a lot of ways that make it easy for everyone to find a way to try it.

[endif]--4. Cava

Now for the drink portion of this article. In Spain, sparkling wine can only be called champagne if it’s from the champagne region in France, if its not, it is called Cava. This drink is a light, bubbly wine goes great with tapas. It’s available in blanco(white) or Rosado( rosé) and makes for a great sangria, which leads me to my next drink of choice…

5. Sangria:

Hands down the most popular drink in Spain, this one is near and dear to my heart. Sangria is comprised of a base alcohol of red or white wine, even Cava ( which I highly recommend). Most sangrias are filled with ice and cut up fruits like oranges, apples, grapes, and really anything else you can think of. It's a perfect drink for the heat of the Barcelona sun.

![endif]--

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page